Fairproxy’s Weblog

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Erratic Jacquelin takes lead in Delhi

NEW DELHI, India — Raphael Jacquelin’s uneven round of 72 was good enough to give him a one-stroke lead after 54 holes of the Indian Masters at Delhi Golf Club.

The Frenchman, whose last European Tour victory came at the Asian Open in Shanghai last April, shot an eagle, a birdie and three bogeys in his level par round for a six-under total of 210.

One behind is the second round leader Damien McGrane, who faltered with five bogeys in his 75, fellow Northern Irishman Graeme McDowell and Spaniard Jose Manuel Lara.

Local hopes remain alive with former US PGA Tour member Arjun Atwal two off the pace and Kolkata-based S.S.P Chowrasia on the same score.

It’s always good to be at the top of the leaderboard but I’m just a bit disappointed with my putting, said Jacquelin, who also won the 2005 Madrid Open.

I hardly made any putts apart from the eagle. This course is so difficult to play, it’s very tricky. But I have confidence in the way I’m playing. I like Asia. The courses seem to suit me.

World number four Ernie Els handled the difficulty windy conditions better than anyone and has continued to improve after the disaster of a nine on the 18th in his first round.

His 69 was unmatched in the third round as winds caused havoc.

I am playing quite consistently but struggling a little bit on the greens, I am having a tough time reading the putts, said Els.

Shooting a 75 on the first day was really disappointing but I have really worked my tail off to get under par and now I am two under so I do feel kind of satisfied after my first day.

Ryder Cup stalwart Darren Clarke, who has been suffering stomach trouble, dropped eight shots on the back nine.

Nine-time European Tour winner Thomas Bjorn shot a 74 to sit alongside Els.

The Florida-based Atwal, the first Indian to secure a USPGA Tour card in 2004, was going well until two having late bogeys.

I played a decent round but made a lot of silly mistakes, said Atwal, who emerged unscathed from a fatal car crash in Orlando last year but faces possible charges of vehicular homicide.

I’ve struggled so badly in the last 18 months that I’m just happy to be in contention, he added. E-mail to a friend

Erratic Jacquelin takes lead in Delhi – found here.

February 9, 2008 - Posted by | Uncategorized

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

