Fairproxy’s Weblog

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Corry gives up international rugby

LONDON, England — Former England captain Martin Corry is retiring from international rugby.

He wrote in the Guardian newspaper on Tuesday: If there is ever a right moment to step aside from representing England this is it.

I’ve had my time and none of us can keep going forever.

Leicester flanker Corry was in the England team beaten by South Africa in the World Cup final in Paris in October, and he said that coach Brian Ashton had invited him to play in the next Six Nations tournament.

It’s just a shame I am getting old, Corry said. If I could carry on for the next 10 years I would because I genuinely love playing for Leicester and England.

Brian rang me to say they were going to name me in the 32 and asked if that was what I wanted.

Unfortunately, I just can’t keep doing it all. Something has to give if I want to keep playing to the required standard.

Corry follows England colleagues Jason Robinson, Mike Catt and Lawrence Dallaglio into retirement

He was capped 64 times for England and six times for the British Lions and was a member of the 2003 World Cup-winning side.

Ashton said:He has been an outstanding member of the England rugby team both on and off the field over a long period of time and his contribution will be sorely missed..

Martin has captained England on a number of occasions, often in difficult circumstances, and he has always led the side from the front in his own inimitable fashion. E-mail to a friend

found here.

January 8, 2008 - Posted by | Uncategorized

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

